Our Spectacular Royal Arcade.

This Art Nouveau jewel is nestled in the heart of the city of Norwich.

Petra Kidd
Tourist in My Own Country

--

The Royal Arcade Norwich — image by the author @MyriadPhoto

On a rainy bank holiday weekend, where better to head than the Royal Arcade in Norwich?

Built in 1899, this stunning Art Nouveau-influenced shopping arcade recently celebrated its 125th anniversary.

Below, you can see some of the arts-and-crafts-style decorative work on the outside of the Royal Arcade.

Image by the author.

Local man George Skipper designed the Royal Arcade, making it a true jewel in a city brimming with beautiful and varied architecture.

“Skipper was responsible for the designs of the city’s most notable commercial buildings as well as hotels, country residences, and public buildings throughout East Anglia, Somerset, and London.” History of the Royal Arcade.

On May 24th, his grandson attended the 125th anniversary celebration. What a proud moment that must have been!

Yesterday, when I visited, there was the added fascination of a group of cosplay fans dressed up as their favourite characters.

--

--

Petra Kidd
Tourist in My Own Country

Photographer and Writer. I write short stories. I shoot, I write, I publish. Find me by the River Wensum.