Richmond

South West London

Natalie
Tourist in My Own Country

--

Photo by author

Ok, it’s a gloomy day in London town once again. Well, we have to make the best of the bad weather. To top it all, it was warm for a few days, and it’s now suddenly turned really cold! Climate change, anyone?

Henry VII built Richmond Palace in 1501 to commemorate his earldom of Richmond in North Yorkshire, and so Richmond the village got its name.

In the medieval period, the area was known as Shene, and known as Sceon in the 10th century. The neighbouring areas still have Sheen as their name — East Sheen and North Sheen.

The manor passed to royalty, and the manor house was called Sheen Palace, being burned down in 1497. It was rebuilt as Richmond Palace.

Photo by author

I liked the plants on show above this pub.

Photo by author

If you think the streets are quiet in all my photos within my stories, it’s because I try to avoid taking photos of people and cars with number plates. If the person cannot be identified as the shot is too far away, then I can keep that one in.

--

--

Natalie
Tourist in My Own Country

A Londoner showing you London. I explore a little bit at a time, taking in some of the history, mixing in a few stories about myself.