Seen and Unseen Creatures of Seattle

Bob King
Tourist in My Own Country
3 min readJan 24, 2024

--

Statues and wildlife

Author’s photo of downtown Seattle dragon

Believe it or not there be dragons here in Seattle. As part of the thriving International District there are several dragon sculptures to be seen, as well as street signs in Chinese and English. And many Asian restaurants thanks to the historic diversity of the population.

author’s photo of dragonfly sculpture

Up north you can see a tribute to the many dragonflies that love the valleys and hills of the northland. I once had a picture of a deep blue one that like to land on my backyard trees, but it flew away somewhere.

author photo of frog crossing sculpture

I enjoy hiking the many rural and urban trails of the area. I came upon this tribute to our frogs, mostly unseen, on one of those trails. Often on my early walks I open the door to a chorus of frogs. They herald the start of another day, but stay hidden in the bushes. This one is out and proud.

--

--

Bob King
Tourist in My Own Country

I seek to inspire others to explore, experiment, and express their discoveries and passions so that together we can make this world a better place