The Food Heaven

Close to my workplace and my heart.

Mahesh Chandra
Tourist in My Own Country
3 min readJul 31, 2024

--

The toughest part of my job is reaching the nearest metro station from my workplace. It’s not that I have to climb big mountains or swim across gushing rivers, it is hardly a two-minute walk, but in those two minutes, I have to control my brain to not fall for those delicious aromas, which I find tougher than those mountains and rivers.

On one side, we have biryani and on the other side have Chinese.

The tandoori chicken, the South-Indian dosa, the Biryanis, the Chinese, and last but not least, our beloved typical North Indian cuisine. You name it, and it is there. Everything is packed in that concise area.

Different stalls, different food.

It’s a beautiful site to watch. It is insane to see how many stalls are there on my way and the best part about them is that none of them are vacant, all are full of their daily customers. The street is also an example of India’s diverse culture and food, especially, in a metropolitan like Delhi, where you can find all kinds of food from different parts of the country.

A young man with his specials.

For food lovers, this place is heaven. A huge variety in minimal prices, what else can one ask for? The place works for those who want to explore something new every day.

But it also serves as a place for the daily wagers, who feel comfortable spending a humble amount to fulfill their hunger with decent food. It also gives an employment opportunity to these stall holders, although informal, yet something valuable to add to their family income. That is the beauty of food, differences and inequalities are overcome to enjoy a good supper.

Dinner is ready!!

For me, I have tried this place twice. It has not disappointed me in taste as well as price. And there is still much more to explore. So, let’s see how it goes.

My usual evening snack, fritters and tea.

Not to forget, there is a stall for sweets and desserts at the end of the road. I don’t have his picture but you can imagine a very bright colourful stall with all the pinks and reds to catch your attention. So, if you are done with your main course, you will find one guy waiting for you with the desserts.

This is what my workplace looks like. It’s beautiful and delicious.

Will meet you next time with some other food heaven. Until then, Happy Eating!!!

--

--