Singapore: The Little Things that Made for a Happy Week

Shanti C K
Tourist in My Own Country
3 min readMay 29, 2023

--

I stopped to appreciate these little things this week. I know that Medium, unlike a blog, doesn’t have many journal type short form stories.

Most are long form, list type, how-to articles.

But I wanted to inject a bit of lightness and happiness into this sphere. I hope that it will be okay with the Medium algorithm. Even if this is not picked up. It sure made me happy.

1. My Mum’s Jasmines

Photo by author of her mum’s Jasmine plant

My mum was very excited and without actually saying it, urged me to take a photo. I could read her mind. The scent on these are divine. It’s no wonder they are used at the temple and at weddings. A jasmine garland is something else.

2. A Gallery Visit

Photo by author taken at the National Gallery of Singapore

My eyesight is so bad so I decided to take a photo so that I could enlarge it on my phone to appreciate the details. I’ve had myopia since I was 6.

One of my favourite local fruits – The rambutan. If you’ve never tried this tropical delight, you just must. Put it on your bucket list. Also the Gallery visit is free for Singaporeans so that was nice. In an expensive city, free…

--

--

Shanti C K
Tourist in My Own Country

Gen X cancer survivor. Childless by circumstance. Thankful for the little angels in my life. Navigating grief & loneliness. Keeping hope in my heart 🩵