The Subtle Sizzler

A fancy restaurant and Chinese food

Mahesh Chandra
Tourist in My Own Country
3 min readApr 26, 2024

--

Yesterday, one of my friends took me to shopping. We went to Pacific Mall in the famous Subhash Nagar of New Delhi. I have seen that mall from outside since my childhood, but it was only the last Monday when I went there. My friend wanted to buy some clothes. As we got late while shopping, we decided to have lunch there only. We went to a restaurant named “GOLA SIZZLERS”. It is famous for its sizzlers. It looked expensive right at first glance. There were pleasant lights, tangy aromas, comfortable seats, cricket match on a big TV. Everything was perfect. I had never heard of the restaurant or the sizzlers. What is it? Let’s see.

My friend loves the dish and ordered one with a Chinese platter. The platter, as I expected, was expensive. So the hype for the food was bigger than ever. He also ordered a fruit drink. And after a while, the sizzlers arrived and with that a gust of smoke all over the dish. The basic concept was that the heavy metal base kept the dish hot for a long time or the whole food was made on that heavy base, something that I understood from my friend. The smoke was gone. The platter included every famous Chinese item- Noodles, Manchurian, and fried Cottage Cheese. Well, the quantity was enough for the two of us. And over that, a whole fruit drink just made us full. We were thinking about dumplings but there was nothing left to fit inside my stomach.

The dish was quite different. It was expensive but the preparation and the environment justified the price. Also, the taste was on the milder side which we usually don’t get in any Chinese platter, especially here in India. If you are having something Chinese in India, your taste buds would go for a bumpy ride. The salts, spices, and sauces will just make it too flavourful for you. But in this dish flavors were mild. The Manchurian and Noodles were well cooked. The dish also had loads of vegetables, sauteed in the sweet and sour sauces to take away their hardness.

The Veg Combo Sizzler. Photo by author

Broccoli, onions, corn, mushrooms, capsicum, cabbage, you name it and it was there. Honestly, Broccoli was slightly bitter but overall, the dish was delicious. The experience of trying something new went well. Not to forget the drink, the tangy and refreshing juice with fine-cut green apples, pineapple, and oranges. It was also not too sweet, again a balanced composition of fruits and juices. I was getting a mixed flavor of the fruits added, which made it quite likeable.

The Fruit Passionate. Photo by author

Well, this was the first time when I went to such an expensive place and had something, but it was worth every single penny. Thanks to my friend for giving me such a different experience.

--

--