Coding problems asked in my Data Engineering Interview

List of coding questions that I was asked to solve in my data engineering interviews of different companies

Aman Ranjan Verma
Towards Data Engineering
3 min readDec 6, 2022

--

For the last 4 months, I interviewed with multiple companies from MNCs to startups. Big or small, all of them were product-based companies.

ShareChat, Uber, and Quillbot were offering WFH, whereas Booking and Agoda were onsite opportunities in Thailand and Amsterdam respectively. There are a few more companies that I interviewed with but they didn’t ask any coding questions. What I have realized is that big product-based companies focus on coding and problem solving along with Data Engineering concepts whereas startups mostly focus on understanding your Data Engineering knowledge.

In this blog, I have listed all the coding questions that I have been asked in the companies I have interviewed with.

Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

Sharechat

QuillBot

Booking.com

Agoda

Question:
Print out `line` `count` times

Example:
printMe(3, “Hello”)
Result:
Hello
Hello
Hello
Print all prime numbers between 2 - 100
swap_two_string without using a third variable

System Design question:

Given DB supporting 200 reads/sec Scale to support 600 reads/sec
Fix a News Website that load very slow at night

Uber

British Petroleum

If you are looking to prepare for a Data Engineering interview do check out my interview blog series:

Data Engineering Interview Questions

15 stories

--

--

Aman Ranjan Verma
Towards Data Engineering

Senior Data engineer, QuillBot | Ex-Flipkart | Ex-Sigmoid. I publish weekly. Available for 1:1 at topmate.io/arverma