Data Engineer Interview Questions: Part I

Big Data Interview Questions Spark, SQL, Python, Data Modeling, and Data Warehouse, Data Structure & Algorithm

Aman Ranjan Verma
Towards Data Engineering

--

I am a data engineer with 3 years of experience. During the last 4 months, I have attended 75 interview sessions for the role of data engineering with 26 different companies.

By Aman Ranjan Verma

Amazon, ANZ, Apisero, Aviyel, Amagi, Busigence, BCG, BitClass, couture.ai, Fractal, Flipkart, Indeed, Healthplix, Lead School, Lumiq, Moveworks, Nagarro, Novo Nordisk, PayPal, Pharmeasy, Recko, Tredence, Uber, Vahan, Vimana, Xpressbees e.t.c

In most of the interviews, the questions were based on my past experiences and the skill set that I hold. I have attached my resume for you to get an understanding of my background.

It will be a series of blogs on data engineering interview questions that I have been asked in different companies. In each blog, I will put two questions on each topics Python, Spark, and SQL.

Python

Q. What is Decorator in Python?

Decorators allow us to extend the behaviour of a function by wrapping it into another function, without permanently modifying it.

Example:

--

--

Aman Ranjan Verma
Towards Data Engineering

Senior Data engineer, QuillBot | Ex-Flipkart | Ex-Sigmoid. I publish weekly. Available for 1:1 at topmate.io/arverma