Bougainvillea, the Rest of the Story

William S. Willis
TownHouse Gardening
3 min readApr 14, 2023

--

How is bougainvillea related to Jeanne Baret, the first woman to circumnavigate the globe? Bougainvillea, the Rest of the Story.

Bougainvillea, and the Rest of the Story

I thought bougainvillea was a nuisance plant. It grows like a weed here in Southern California. I once had a bougainvillea near the walkway leading to my door in Riverside when I first went to work overseas. The plant grew wild and literally blocked the entrance to the home. My parents had to cut a way through the bush to clear a path for the poor postman (and my tenant!).

I later began to appreciate the qualities of bougainvillea in Malaysia and the Middle East. It just needs a little love and attention. It can be a house plant for anyone who doesn’t like other people (nasty thorns!). Likewise it can be a fence. I like to think of it as a colorful tree. It is very easy to grow.

What we like about bougainvillea are the leaves. Not just any leaves, but the bracts. Bracts on the…

--

--

William S. Willis
TownHouse Gardening

International educator, presenter, and gardener who would like to see the world grow better.