South Carolina’s Premiere Video Production Company, KunTree Urban Media & Film, Is Family-Inspired

L. Woods
Trade Storytelling
3 min readJun 8, 2023

--

Both Ludrick Cooper’s, father and son, in their graduation gowns from Benedict, one in 1975, the other in 2005. Original images in the above split photo.

Good professional video production services in South Carolina can be hard to seek out, but they aren’t impossible to find. I know this because one of the best video companies in the Pee Dee region, KunTree Urban Media & Film, is run by a high school friend of mine who was handed down one from his father many years ago, Mr. Ludrick Rell C. Cooper.

Ludrick explained to me during our interview why so many locals in the Williamsburg County region (where he and I went to Kingstree High School in the late 1990s) still get him and his father confused.

“The reason why is mainly because me and my father have the same first name,” said the Mass Communication & Broadcast graduate of Benedict College. “My middle name is Rell, so I wrote it all the way out on my website. Plus, most people in and around the Pee Dee know me as Rell C. anyway.”

“So, did your father hand you down KunTree Urban Media & Film, or did you create it on your own?” I asked. “Also, at what age did the video production bug bite you?”

“Well, my dad was in radio in the 1970’s and 80’s,” he began, “the local radio station in Kingstree, SC, WWKT. But, he was also a wedding video production professional and photographer. After my sophomore year, I did like everybody else and went to Myrtle Beach to get a job for the summer. It was actually my first time ever getting on the beach bus to go look for a job.”

Official company logo for KunTree Urban Media & Film. For weddings and/or documentary-style business promo videos, book here.

I remember that beach bus, too. “Long ass ride every day,” I responded.

“Yup,” he said, shaking his head. “I went down there, put in for a bunch of restaurants and hotels and stuff, and got asked by a few of them to come back for a second job interview. When I got back home from the beach that day, all excited about getting a job, my dad had gotten in a bad car accident that same day.”

Ludrick explained to me that after his father stopped working in radio in the 1970s and 80s, the elder parent with the same name decided to start establishing himself as a video production company.

“I went to the hospital,” Ludrick continued, in a vaguely dismal-sounding voice, “and my dad was not going be able to work for a while because he’d broken his leg in two places. That’s when my dad told me that I was the only person he could trust to handle all the weddings that he had already booked all the way through the coming summer. So, I ended up not going back to the beach to work at the restaurants where the managers had asked that I return for a second interview. Instead, I started being a wedding video services contractor in his place. It eventually became my regular summer job that year, and I never looked back!”

When you go to Ludrick’s video production company’s website, Kuntree Urban Media & Film, you’ll see that wedding production videos are still a large part of his business. But, his overall goal today after many years in the business is to be the premiere video company in South Carolina to call when any type of business in the Pee Dee area needs, say, a short documentary-style video for their business website, a YouTube video to represent their business, etc.

If this sounds like something you need, feel free to book your appointment here.

--

--