Away from the City & Home

Literary Cell, IIFT
Trading Thoughts
Published in
1 min readAug 21, 2019

by Ayesha Aggarwal

Source: Google

If I could drive a thousand miles

away from the city and home

I’d reach a place where the starry sky

is not veiled by a staged glow

I’d sleep under the heavenly blanket

with the soft grass under my head

and wake with the chirpin’ birds

and the morning dew on my hands

away from the city and home

a place where I can finally breathe

and heave a sigh of relief

the horns no longer bleed my ears

nor do the people make me groan

out here away from the city and home

is a place where I can finally be on my own.

About The Poet:

Ayesha is an incurable bibliophile whose tryst with the written world began in her childhood. For her, writing is a retreat, a solace from the mundane world. She strives to revive English language back to its old glory.

--

--