Know ThyShelf #2

Literary Cell, IIFT
Trading Thoughts
Published in
2 min readFeb 12, 2018

By Kriti Sharma

Favorite books:

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Agatha Christie’s Murder Mysteries

God Of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

Recent read: To kill a mocking bird ( again)

About Wuthering Heights:

Wuthering Heights, published in 1847, Emily Brontë’s sole novel, has since become a literary classic. Beautifully describing the setting and the journey that each character goes through, it is not just a book, it is a feeling, an experience. Whether you’ve encountered the stormy relationship of Heathcliff and Catherine in a literature class or have read the novel at leisure, it’s no doubt been memorable for its portrayal of love and revenge. However, there’s much more to be learned from the novel besides those two themes. What I learnt the most from this book was one should and must take things in stride. Like in the novel, strange and weird things keep happening with the characters, we also go through it. The lesson is not to get affected by it and embrace what life has in store for each one of us.

My first book?

Although Alice in Wonderland was the first book I read, I consider The Old man and the sea to be my first serious reading. It had a profound effect on me. I learnt that not everything that you do results in success. We all have to admit that once in our lives, we are in a situation when we put in everything that we have and the result is not favourable. That is when we have to realise that the journey matters and not the end result.

How has reading helped me?

Reading from all kinds of genres has enabled me to see one particular thing in numerous ways. It had widened my perception and shaped most of my opinions. Reading has also encouraged me to write and share my thoughts with other people.

Reading is something which should not stop, no matter how busy you get. If you ask me, sometimes it is better to be lost in the world of the characters in a book, than being lost in the rat race.

About the Author:

Meet Kriti Sharma from the batch of 2017–19, who often passes off as a very quiet person, but can make hell come down on you if you say “Leviosaa” instead of Leviosa. She is not a Nazi, and by no means is she a purist, she just feels that certain things were meant to be said and written in a certain way. An avid reader since she first felt Alice in Wonderland in her hands, she can read anything and everything as long as it keeps her in her parallel universe, where “ there is time to stand and stare…”

--

--