Many Entrepreneurs Are Lazy 😴

Vin Clancy
Traffic and Copy
Published in
3 min readJun 27, 2017

I am going to say something some of you may not like: Many entrepreneurs are lazy.

It’s not a lack of funding, resources, or staff that holds you back, it’s yourself.

The lens I’m seeing this through is my own: Marketing/growth.

Typical example: When I was at “St. James’ Palace with the Royal Family a little while ago, I bumped into a founder who had seen me talk for Prince Andrew a few weeks before:

Him: “Hey! Loved your talk. I gotta get some of my team doing this growth hacking stuff”

Me: “You’re the CEO. Your job title is head of growth. What do you do all day if not that?”

Him: “What? Erm, I guess that’s a good point…”

The entrepreneurs I encounter can be put into two buckets:

  1. Too poor to hire or to buy info products/coaching
  • If you really are at death’s door, on welfare, supporting a family and have just enough money to eat, this group and other free resources should hopefully lift you up

2. Too poor to hire, too lazy to buy info products/coaching to learn it yourself

Here’s the problem. You can’t afford $3k a month for a Facebook ads guy (+ money for ads), but you won’t invest the basics in learning how to do anything yourself. Well, how are you going to progress to 10x from where you’re at without doing it yourself?

Typical objections people come up with:

“You can’t grow fast without hiring professionals”

Oh yeah, then how do all of those two and three people startups around the world scale so fast with tiny teams? Instagram had 13 employees and tens of millions of users when they were bought by Facebook.

Growth is a mindset that comes from the founder and spreads to the rest of the team.

In internet businesses, growth is not incremental, like adding a new client to increase revenues, it can change everything, freeing up time, adding consistent revenue, blowing up your social profile, and lots more.

If you ever read about successful people taking time to read or have speculative meetings and think “It’s alright for them, they’re already rich” you miss the point.

People don’t buy what they need, they buy what they want. Hence “comfort” products like fast food, booze and fags are bought by many people who don’t have much money at all.

So, how much do you want it?

People like my story from broke to where I am now, but struggle to see themselves as capable of doing the same a lot of the time.

When Iceland (population 300,000) knocked England (population 53 million) out of the European (football) championship last summer, Iceland hero Ragnar Sigurdsson taunted England by claiming they “wanted it more” than Roy Hodgson’s flops.

That’s really the only difference between me and anyone else in the game, I want it more, and I’m prepared to go broke again paying to make it happen to the level I want.

Anyone want to join me? As my mentor Gallant Dill would say, I’ll see you at the top!

--

--

Vin Clancy
Traffic and Copy

Author of “Secret Sauce: A step-by-step guide to growth hacking”. Founder of Magnific, Planet Ivy, Screen Robot.