An ordinary run to the beach

Chris Castleman
Trail Perks
Published in
5 min readJun 7, 2016

Since moving to California two years ago from the East Coast, I have been amazed at the incredible beauty I witness on everyday runs. This post is the first of (hopefully) many to share my trail running adventures and pass along my passion for exploring the outdoors. Rather than report on a recent trail race, I wrote up an example of what has become my new “normal” run as a Bay Area resident with some added detail on trail conditions, gear, and nutrition. Thanks for reading — I hope you’ll enjoy this run as much as I did!

Run stats: 13 miles, 2 hours, 2K ft elevation, 8:50 pace

My apartment is located about 15 minutes north of San Francisco in the hills of Tamalpais Valley which means instant access to the abundant trails of the Marin Headlands and Mount Tamalpais State Park — a.k.a. one of the greatest backyards around! Last Thursday, my training called for a moderately long run which means anywhere from 12–18 miles depending on how I feel that day. As usual, I packed my running belt with enough nutrition for a few hours along with some long-run emergency essentials (iPhone, $5 cash, credit card, ID, 4 salt pills, and 1 extra caffeinated gel). I’ve learned from numerous “oh shit” moments to always be prepared for unforeseen circumstances, even if it means carrying additional items that you don’t ever use.

Sometimes I plan out the entire route in advance, but for mid-week runs like these I like to just pick a general destination or two and set out for an adventure. For this run I chose Stinson Beach as it was shaping up to be a gorgeous day and I was feeling particularly beach deprived.

The ocean stirs the heart, inspires the imagination and brings eternal joy to the soul. — Wyland

Setting out at 11am, I quickly hopped on the Homestead Trail which is only a half mile from my apartment near Five Corners. This neighborhood trail offers surprisingly technical rolling terrain similar to the relentless trails of the Lake Sonoma 50-mile race course. After following the ridge-line for about 2 miles, I turned onto the famous Dipsea Trail at Cowboy Rock and continued until I met up with the Sun Trail just above Muir Woods. In hopes of staying above some rather thick fog, I opted to head towards Mountain Home and the Matt Davis Trail instead of following the Dipsea down, up, down, up, and down into Stinson Beach.

Baking in the sun on the Redwood Trail

But wow did I underestimate the heat! The route via the Sun, Redwood, and Panoramic trails is almost entirely exposed and the midday sun was sizzling. Only 5 miles into my run and I had already downed an entire 20 ounce bottle of Tailwind, yikes! Fortunately the fountain at Mountain Home was ice cold, so I filled up my bottle and started the short but steep climb up Hogback Fire Road and onto the Matt Davis Trail.

Re-fueling and watching the fog roll in through the Marin Headlands

One of my favorite trails in the area, Matt Davis follows along the south side of Mt Tam for 6 miles, hovering between 1200 to 1600 feet above sea level before plunging down to Stinson Beach in the last 2 miles. This extremely diverse trail features rocky technical terrain, rolling grassy hills, dense redwood groves, creek crossings, and endless coastal views overlooking the Marin Headlands. Water and bathrooms are located roughly half way at Bootjack Campground and Pantoll Ranger Station which was a perfect spot to refill my bottle before the final 4 mile stretch to the beach.

One of the many densely wooded forest sections on the Matt Davis trail

Despite the sun still melting my skin, I decided to take a brief detour to check out the views from Bare Knoll. The thick marine layer was sitting just a couple hundred feet below the overlook which gave me the feeling like I was soaring in an airplane above a sea of clouds.

Above the fog at Bare Knoll with Montara Mountain (Pacifica) in the distance

I love being spontaneous and flexible when out on a run. I never regret taking a detour for a better view or throwing in that extra hill (or summit) just because. This is what adventure running is all about!

Shuffling through the golden grassy hills of the Matt Davis Trail

After a foggy 2-mile descent through an overgrown jungle of ferns and thistle, I made my way on to the beach and straight into the ocean. Ahhhh — nature’s largest ice bath :)

I originally thought I could make a loop and end up back home, but after already logging a few hours on the trails that would have been way too much. So I decided to just spend the day at the beach until getting a ride back home later in the day. Winning!

Data/Maps

Gear/Nutrition

  • Feet: Salomon Wings Pro 2 and Stance Fusion LW Run socks
  • Pack: Salomon Sensibelt (20 oz bottle)
  • Nutrition: Tailwind (Tropical Buzz) - 70 oz water / 600 calories
  • Recovery: Double Cheeseburger, Fries, Grape Soda @ Parkside Café

Later that day…

My wife (Tara) met me after work for a short shakeout run on the beach and to watch the sun set over the Pacific.

For more of my everyday adventures, follow me on Instagram and Strava

--

--

Chris Castleman
Trail Perks

Trail runner & ice cream enthusiast living in Northern California