Being Happy

Jeremy Merritt
Trail running in the 21st Century
2 min readJan 30, 2015

--

Driving home last night, I thought about how much happier I am now than I was a few years ago. What struck me was that back then I knew I was unhappy, but I believed that I had to resign myself to live that way forever. I could not see a way out. What happened?

As I mentally retrace my journey, a couple of important points come to mind:

  1. I found real happiness when I actively sought it.
  2. Realizing that I deserved to be happy, and could be happy helped build confidence in moving forward when things got tough, (and still does).

For me, I learned to seek happiness through fitness. I firmly believe that fitness and happiness are intertwined, but becoming a runner also taught me that the hard work of training every day will pay off over time. And it’s not just a long slog that eventually leads to a place called “happiness” either.

Running was very hard for me at first. I hated it. It took a lot of mental effort to keep at it. When I finally got over the hurt-curve, I began to love it. Working toward a “goal” dissolved, and what remained was a lifestyle. This is how I think about my happiness now.

I no longer wait for happiness to come to me. I deserve it, and so I seek it. And I practice it, every day. (This is important.) I know I will continue to find happiness because I am committed to relentless forward progress. I’m happy about that :-)

--

--