Meet the Trailmix Team

Caro
Trailmix
Published in
3 min readFeb 8, 2022

Part 3. Lauren Alper

What do you do at Trailmix?

As Office Manager, my role is super varied and I get to be involved with stuff that happens across lots of different areas of how the company functions. If I had to sum it up I would say my job is to ensure Trailmix offers a happy, safe and well functioning physical, social and psychological environment where we can all enjoy our work. Every day is different because I have a focus on the people who make up the Trailmix team, so it really depends on what the needs of the company are at any given moment.

What’s your best memory of making Love & Pies?

A really great memory was when there was a huge shift in the direction of Love & Pies, which was super hectic for everyone. This moment and the weeks after were vital to getting to the awesome game we have now and I remember being absolutely blown away by the dedication of everyone to make it work. It was truly an incredible show of what teamwork can do.

What’s the most fun thing about working at Trailmix?

I LOVE it when we all get together for social events and get a chance to hang out informally. I don’t work directly on making games so this also gives me a chance to catch up with people I don’t often cross paths with. I also really enjoy these moments as it’s a chance for me to see everyone having a good time which brings me lots of happiness.

What inspires you?

I am super passionate about Trailmix being a positive work environment and supporting our team. I have over eight years experience in mental health and wellbeing and am really interested in how people interact and thrive. From my previous work experience, I have seen what happens when people don’t get the love and support they need and this really inspires me to keep Trailmix a place where people can be themselves, enjoy their work and feel supported.

What would you want someone to know coming into Trailmix?

That you should consider your team cat/team dog selection very carefully… joking (but it’s all about the cats). The thing that I would actually really want people to know is how much care and attention is put into everything that happens at Trailmix across all departments, which really is a reflection of what a genuinely lovely group of people make up the company.

What’s been the most challenging part of your role?

Before starting at Trailmix I had only ever worked in healthcare, so there was a steep learning curve when joining the gaming industry as I knew NOTHING about games! To make it more challenging, I started in March 2020, when everyone was told to work from home due to the pandemic, so it’s been a crazy two years in the life of an office manager! I have learnt so much and due to unusual circumstances it opened up opportunities to get involved with lots of other areas of the business.

Who’s your favorite character in Love & Pies, and why?

Yuka is my fav! She’s so dedicated to helping Amelia solve the mystery, and despite having set-backs of her own she always manages to be a really good friend which I admire.

What did you learn from another role that helped you in your current role?

How to listen, and how important it is that people are listened to and heard. Even if you don’t have a solution, providing space for people to express themselves is so important for growth and development of anything. It’s a simple thing but really powerful, and also easy to forget in the very busy lives we all lead

What do you do to unwind?

All kinds of things! Probably too many to list here and it really depends on my mood. I most enjoy being around others, so unwinding and feeling relaxed for me most often involves doing something/catching up with friends or family. I love doing active stuff so anything that gets me up and out the house is also a winner — and new experiences are also super fun. That being said, sometimes I just need a bubble bath followed by a cuddle with my cat Luna — there’s nothing more relaxing than a cat’s purr!

--

--