Welcome apprentices!

Trainline
Trainline’s Blog
Published in
7 min readJul 19, 2022

A warm welcome to our 8 new apprentices who’ve joined us in our Engineering, Data and People teams via our first ever UK Apprenticeship Programme! Get to know them below:

‍What will you be doing at Trainline?

To start off with I’ll be learning how the team operates, the workflows and getting into the groove of things slowly.

What are you most excited about now you’ve joined?

Being able to work alongside experienced programmers and just working on big projects in general.

What attracted you to Trainline?

Trainline was amongst the bigger companies which I could apply to, which I saw as a great opportunity to learn from many people from all different sectors. I definitely didn’t expect it to be this welcoming and friendly!

What are your fave things to do outside of work?

In my free time I do a little bit of everything, I take interest in a lot of things periodically, my favourites are probably; building custom mechanical keyboards, playing video games and doodling on my graphics tablet.

What will you be doing at Trainline?

My role now is primarily around making sure things go smoothly behind the scenes of the company. Things like making sure you get the benefits you’re entitled to and making sure you get paid (and the right amount too!)

What are you most excited about now you’ve joined?

How much growth opportunity there is available here at Trainline. I’ll be continuously learning new things, continuously building my skills set and becoming more and more valuable as an employee not only in the company, but within my field as a whole.

What attracted you to Trainline?

The role itself — HR was a field I wanted to get into and Trainline was offering exactly that. Trainline is a very well-known and trusted company, and a giant within its industry. To have the name Trainline backing you up as a reference can be amazing for any future growth opportunities.

What are your fave things to do outside of work?

I’m a little bit of an introvert, so I enjoy a little bit of ‘me’ time, and one of my favourite things to do is just go on a night drive every now and then. I find it super therapeutic as I put on some music and forget about the outside world, and the responsibilities I have in it, for a bit. Other than that, I like to meet up with some friends every now and then and go for a dinner and just hang out for a bit.

What are you most excited about now you’ve joined?

I’m most excited to hear from all the experienced individuals and gain advice on how to be successful in the Data and BI world. I’m also excited to see how Data and BI come to play in the real world.

What attracted you to Trainline in particular, among other companies offering apprenticeship opportunities?

Definitely Trainline’s culture, you can see the fun and friendly aura that Trainline has just from the website and through reviews. It looked like the perfect company to learn and ask questions. I also was drawn to Trainline’s environmental goals and wanted to be part of encouraging customers to choose taking the train over planes.

What are your fave things to do outside of work?

I like gaining knowledge, that can be through anything and about anything. Right now I’m learning more about painting.

What will you be doing at Trainline?

I’ll be working with the Data team and learning how we can make data work for us. Currently in the BI-reporting team and have learned so much with the team!

What are you most excited about now you’ve joined?

I’m excited to be on this journey of learning and progress with Trainline who are going to be with me every step!

What attracted you to Trainline?

Trainlines culture was something that stood out to me and how we want to work towards being the greatest in the industry.

What are your fave things to do outside of work?

Love playing video games and football with my friend.

What will you be doing at Trainline?

Working alongside Talent Partners, navigating software, sorting data as well as gaining skills regarding the interview process. This is until I switch over to HR Ops and gain skills in that area also.

What are you most excited about now you’ve joined?

Gaining knowledge and experience in HR, also partaking in more projects.

What are your fave things to do outside of work?

I love to read and bake, spending time with my family is also one of my favourite things to do.

What attracted you to Trainline?

The company’s visions and morals aligned closely with mine, knowing the employee experience was a priority of theirs was great!

What will you be doing at Trainline?

Working on the back-end API with Connections Delphus via tickets on Jira.

What are you most excited about now you’ve joined?

Learning the industry and working with a team as I have limited experience in working with team in a formal environment.

What attracted you to Trainline?

Trainline is a well-known and very reputable company with their ethics, and to be able to contribute towards it and support it is what attracts me.

What are your fave things to do outside of work?

I like to go to gym, play video games, and meet up with friends.

‍What will you be doing at Trainline?

I will be working with the Coverage team within Vulcan.

What are you most excited about now you’ve joined?

Learning about all the technologies that are used within my team, and working on projects that will positively affect consumers and businesses.

What attracted you to Trainline?

​​​​I had always been quite fond of the Trainline app and website so when the apprenticeship opening came up it was a no brainer to apply! The application process felt more seamless than other companies, which is always a plus!

What are your fave things to do outside of work?

You’ll often find me playing video games, making music, playing tennis or football, and hanging out with friends.

‍‍What will you be doing at Trainline?

I am part of the fusion-fares team, so I will be working on the back-end of the Trainline system. I have already been given my first project to add SGP location data to an internal fares-control-panel to start me off.

What are you most excited about now you have joined?

In the interview process for Trainline, I feel like the culture was quite understated! Having already been to the ‘Black History Month evening social’ and the Halloween Lunch, I look forward to attending the next events and meeting new colleagues. And of course, I look forward to developing my skills as a Software Developer in an actual working environment, especially in Trainline as a leader in the industry.

What attracted you to Trainline?

Seeing Trainline as a company that I had used a few times in the past, it stood out to me as somewhere that my work could make real differences in people’s everyday life. Now as part of the fusion-fares team, I know that the work I will be doing will contribute every time somebody makes a journey search on Trainline!

What are your fave things to do outside of work?

I love reading so I’m trying to get back into the habit of it right now, currently going through some Steven King books.

Before joining Trainline (and mostly before Covid!), I also volunteered locally and within my college, so I hope to be able to take up something similar again once I become settled within the job.

I’m also looking forward to meeting up with my friends again soon, as most have gone through the traditional university route I’m interested to hear how their courses are going in comparison to the apprenticeship!

--

--