An introduction

Amir
Tranquil Maelstrom
Published in
1 min readApr 19, 2023

Hello world. It’s quite exciting and also scary to start a writing journey. For this publication, I wanted to share my photos and my thoughts surrounding it with the world.

Here you will find the portraits and landscapes that I’ve shot. For the portraits, they consist of both hired professional model and bribed friends who don’t mind being in front of the camera. All are available on Instagram but I also felt that while Instagram is a nice gallery, I think the stories behind the photos also deserve to be shared.

Cherry blossom petals on leaves after rain.

Let me start this by sharing a photo of cherry blossoms. In Japan, cherry blossoms symbolizes spring. These beautiful blossoms only lasts for a week or two, yet when they bloom, evokes a feeling of renewal and growth while at the same time marking the cycle of time as the year begins anew.

This year the blossoming of the cherry tree is marked with rainy weather almost every day. I felt that this photo of petals on the leaves is good reminder that while the blossoms are gone, it doesn’t mean beauty is also gone. There is a cycle in life and soon enough, another opportunity to bloom will come.

--

--

Amir
Tranquil Maelstrom

I drink coffee and I know things. Sometimes I take photos too. I'm not here to "win", I'm here to spread understanding.