BMI requirements on most gender surgeries!

Beauty Girl
A Trans Life
Published in
2 min readJul 6, 2019

This is something that a lot of people don’t know about surgeries. You have to have a healthy weight based on a BMI score, which has to be under 24.99 or most likely they will not perform the surgery. This is critical information because after all, you want the surgeries as soon as possible. However, some people like me have issues with being overweight. There is a real problem with being overweight and trying to get gender confirmation surgery. This requirement is also typical for facial surgery but is not as heavily enforced. You might think this is a load of bull shit, well my fellow transgender’s this is not. It’s a scary thought finding out that you can’t have surgery because you are overweight. I know the feeling which is why I have started losing weight. I am down already 24 lbs to a weight of 237 lbs but I need to get down to a weight of 156 lbs in order to get within the BMI score. This is really important when you are thinking about the future of your surgeries.

Alright, so I am not going to go into how to lose the weight because that is something I am going to publish for sale. But I will tell you that you can do this with little effort and that it is completely possible to do it without even exercising. Tips on that later but for now let’s focus on that BMI score. You need to get it within a safe range. Below is a list of the required BMI score based on weight and height.

Bear in mind that you can still get surgery without your BMI score being within range. However, the downfall with this is you might be putting yourself at additional medical risk for health reasons. In addition, the doctor will charge you a higher fee for the surgery because you are considered obese. I am sorry that I had to explain this in such a way but I am trying to let you know the requirements. So if you’re looking to get those pretty breast and nice face with a sex change, you better lose the weight or you might be fighting an uphill battle to get the surgeries done. I love you all and hope that you all listen and get to your target weight to have those surgeries that you really want.

--

--

Beauty Girl
A Trans Life

Primarily Talking About Trans folk Topics and LGBTQ+ Support. Occasionally off-topic for other matters. “She/her”