OMG!!! MTF effects and changes over the last….YEAR (Part 2) Facial Hair

Beauty Girl
A Trans Life
Published in
4 min readFeb 25, 2020

Mmkay, the last article I published was about appearance and the general start of the transition, but now I would like to really get into the information about the change on the body, primarily the Facial Hair or some people call it the “Scary Beard”

The results are rather dramatic, but I will start off telling you that it not because of the Hormone Replacement Therapy (HRT). However, this is part of a change that you will likely want to get done because it is a very important step in the process of presenting female like me.

Facial Hair is very stubborn and doesn’t like to come off that easy. I had no choice but to start going to get laser treatments 1 year before I even started my transition.

Why?

That’s because your HRT plan will not affect your beard in the slightest, well mostly anyway.

Your beard is something that changes over time as you mature into an adult. Once you get past puberty, that beard is a nightmare, and if you are unlucky like I was to not be able to change at a young age then you will have to deal with this too.

I honestly hate this part, and even now after 1 year of transition I still have a shadow that haunts me every morning but only around my chin and upper lip. I started with really, really thick facial hair that was dark and black and really filled in. This was a really bad thing for me, and “Oh GOD “do I wish I could have changed this and started earlier.

I didn’t have a choice though because of how life played out for me. It was tough to transition earlier if I wanted to do to family and other factors.

So with a long process and many, many laser treatments; up to 10 treatments thus far and I still have a shadow on my face. It is a really horrible feeling seeing that on your face every day. However, thanks to some selected choices you can find ways to cover it up with makeup.

People that have very dark hair are going to benefit the best from laser treatments to remove the unbearable amount of facial hair, although it normally takes longer to wipe out the hair follicles.

If you are a person who has a Red-ish hairstyle for your face or blond, you may have some problems with getting your hair removed by laser and have to pursue a different round and get electrolysis which is more expensive and takes longer.

With me, the treatment takes a long time, and I will have to go back to get some electrolysis in the end to remove the rest of the gray hairs that I have on my face, even though they are very fine the laser can’t pinpoint them enough to remove them, so I am stuck living with it till I can afford to get them removed.

In the end, the Hormone replacement therapy will not change your facial hair, or at least it did nothing for me. I would have loved to see less hair as a result but after 1 year and almost another month, nothing has improved. The laser was my only option on the face; so remember it may take many treatments in order to have all of the hair removed from the face. So if you can afford it, start early, and if you are young enough to be on hormones before puberty and your family will let you, I would highly recommend it because it will save you hundreds of dollars if not thousands.

Always remember that you are in control of your own change, and no matter how long it takes you will eventually get to where you want.

❤ ❤ ❤

Thx you all for listening and if you have any questions or suggestions of things you want to know more about please let me know in the comments below and I will be happy to do my best to answer.

If you enjoyed my story please leave a clap or two.

❤ ❤ ❤

--

--

Beauty Girl
A Trans Life

Primarily Talking About Trans folk Topics and LGBTQ+ Support. Occasionally off-topic for other matters. “She/her”