OMG!!! MTF effects and changes over the last….YEAR (Part 3) Scalp Hair

Beauty Girl
A Trans Life
Published in
4 min readFeb 26, 2020

— Ewwww —

I really hate talking about this one because of the emotional distress that I feel when I have to mention the hair loss.

Oh dear, this is really hard, but I am sure you would like to know because there are many of us Trans-women who are older than 30 when we finally get to change. This is a really hard subject for me but let’s get going and I’ll do my best.

Scalp hair, a really hard thing to deal with because as people age past 25 they start entering this phase where they may lose some of their hair as it starts its balding process. Of course, not everyone loses their hair, and not everyone has to deal with this, but I was one of the unlucky ones that had this happen. I was lucky enough to start before losing all of it.

Here you can see that when I first started taking pictures about what was going on with my scalp, I wanted to and I did cry many times because the loss of my hair made me feel even that more insecure about who I was, especially after coming out.

I would look in the mirror and see my hair, but then turn around and OMG, there it was a bright shiny bald spot on my head.

It was light a bright star that shined when any light hit it, and for this, I wanted to run away into a dark underground world where people would never see me.

This really wasn’t an option!

So what did I do?

Left Jan 2020 | Right Feb 2019

In the beginning, I started growing my hair out, and as time went on I was able to get on hormones in order to start my transition process.

To my surprise, my hair started growing faster than ever before. Because I had a hard time growing hair in the first place, but WOW there was hair growing just not in the bald spot.

I wanted to cry again and again…

I continued on my hormones in hope that things would change, in they did but not for everything. Here they changed only a little, the hair on my head is now around “10 inches” or so long, but my bald spot is still there. The hormones didn’t do much for it and I am upset that I am stuck with a bald spot.

I spend a lot of time hiding it everywhere I go by pulling my hair back into a ponytail and leaving some bangs in the front. A cute little adjustment, and then I normally would put clips or cute little flowers in my hair in order to distract from the bald spot that horrifies me.

Hair thickened up over the year, and while it was nice to see it fill in some, there is still a lot left that never really filled in and I will likely have to go and get some replacement surgery. “Hair transplant, or something new I heard about Stem Cell injections.”

When I can afford it I will make sure that I fix this because aside from my facial hair and many other things, I really want beautiful hair.

So in turn, if you are on hormones, you can expect to find a little bit of hair growth and perhaps even more hair growth for hair that already exists. But do not expect to see a huge improvement if you are bald.

I am likely going to have to get a wig in the meantime, but I hate wearing something over my head unless it is for cosplay.

I really do hope that anyone else that is taking hormones that you have better luck than me, but — if you start hormones before you begin to lose hair, there is a higher chance that you will actually not go bald. — So keep this in mind if you are beginning to lose hair or you are young enough to avoid this altogether.

Hair is precious and I will always enjoy the ability to style it, anyway I want. I will one day have a full head of hair again but hopefully not 20 years from now.

❤ ❤ ❤

Thx you all for listening and if you have any questions or suggestions of things you want to know more about please let me know in the comments below and I will be happy to do my best to answer.

If you enjoyed my story please leave a clap or two.

❤ ❤ ❤

--

--

Beauty Girl
A Trans Life

Primarily Talking About Trans folk Topics and LGBTQ+ Support. Occasionally off-topic for other matters. “She/her”