Working Through Grief With My Hands

Transform the Pain
Transform the Pain
Published in
2 min readDec 8, 2016

By Anne Pavlik Houston Martin

Anne’s labor of love

I just wanted to share something with you. I have always made quilts. When my boys were young, they all got a handmade quilt for their beds. When my son Tim had his first baby, they got a handmade quilt for the baby shower. I fully expected to make him a quilt as a wedding gift.

After he died I barely wanted to leave the house. It was my safe space. I started working on a quilt for him then. It’s called a Grandmother’s Flower Garden. I spent hour after hour hand stitching this quilt. Some of the stitches are a bit sloppy because I could barely see through the tears.

After I finished all the hand stitching, I sent the quilt top out to be machine quilted then I hand binded it.

I have been selling raffle tickets for $25.00 each for a chance to win this labor of love. 100% of the proceeds are going to a Memorial Fund that I set up at our local Community Foundation so that people in our area can receive financial help getting music lessons (my boy was a violinist.)

I’m selling 200 tickets and I’m getting close — only 35 to go.

It was so therapeutic for me to work through some of my grief with my hands.

Lots of love and healing to you all.

Please contact Anne Pavlik Houston Martin if you are interested in her work.

--

--