Getting Out of the “Pack”

Kirk Ream
Transformation Matters
3 min readAug 10, 2016

34 minutes.

That’s how long it took my wife to complete her goal. It wasn’t her best time. But it was still impressive (especially since this time she was carrying a fussy 1 year old the entire time). I’ve seen her break 30 minutes before in this event but considering it was midnight and she had just spent 14 hours in a van, I’d say it’s something to be proud of.

I’m sure you are thinking my wife ran a 5k or completed a Crossfit workout like “Murph.” No, this is much more impressive. 34 minutes is the amount of time it took my wife to put away all of the clothes, toiletries and food for 5 kids and two adults after coming home from a week of vacation. (You may clap now).

It’s kind of her thing. No matter what time we get home from a trip or vacation, she has to get everything put away before she goes to bed that night. It’s pretty impressive. Within 34 minutes, she’s unpacked and relaxing knowing she’s able to enjoy the next day without any “past” to deal with.

Then there’s me. I typically like to take my time putting my things away. Actually “putting my things away” isn’t really the right term. I go for more of the, “I’ll live out of this suitcase until all the clothes are used and in the dirty laundry before I put it away” type vibe. 34 minutes for her…34 days for me. Very similar.

But to be honest, my wife’s little habit has taught me a big lesson. A lesson all of us need to be reminded of over and over again.

Many of us struggle with holding on to the past. Just like my backpack would sit there for days with memories from the “past” waiting to be dealt with, we hold onto our regrets, mistakes and failures reminding us of who we could’ve or should’ve been. Even though mentally, we know we need to move on, and get out of the “pack” we just can’t put it away.

But the truth is, the past doesn’t define us. A major part of living is realizing we will make mistakes. We will say and do things we are going to regret. We are going to mess up. It’s who we are as humans. It’s also why the Bible says, “God’s mercies are new EVERY morning.”

We don’t need to keep our suitcase packed with stuff from the past. Just like my wife, the quicker we put the past away and move on, the better we’ll be.

Yes, there may be some things we need to deal with. Most likely we’ll have to apologize to someone. Maybe we’ll have to forgive ourselves or others for some previous mistakes. Maybe we’ll have longer lasting consequences from a failed business, marriage or financial decision that need to be dealt with.

But regardless of whatever happened in the past, we need to put it away quickly. Increased Stress, depression, anxiety and actual physical illness are the hidden clothes in the backpack. If we don’t move on, we’ll find ourselves wearing a wardrobe that we aren’t meant to wear.

After our last vacation, I put away my clothes before I went to bed. It took me longer than 34 minutes but I moved on. I’m getting better at doing the same thing with my past. I’m learning to accept God’s grace and forgiveness and let the past be the past.

Most likely I’ll have to get up tomorrow morning and make a decision to keep that bag unpacked. But everyday I do I realize the freedom and joy of the present feel a whole lot better than the fears, doubts and anxieties of the past.

34 minutes, 3–4 weeks, 34 months or 34 years….however long it takes you, unpack your bag and move on. You were made for today.

If you’d like more readings like this one, be sure to follow click here and follow our publication called Transformation Matters ….dedicated to helping you Change Your Life & Transform Your World

--

--

Kirk Ream
Transformation Matters

A Carlisle native, Kirk spends his days helping build better lives at his gym Transformation Training & Fitness and his nights chasing five young children around with his wife Trinette. His writings are short, much like his attention span, but he hopes the lessons he’s learned will last a lifetime.