The Gospel of Mark

Experiencing Jesus Like Never Before

An Introduction to the Gospel of Mark

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
Transformed Faith
Published in
9 min readJul 5, 2023

--

Photo by Mateus Campos Felipe on Unsplash

I will never forget the time that Jesus sat across from me at a table. For months, I had been inviting him into my life for a cup of coffee in the morning.

Sometimes, I would experience him. His presence would fill a room in what can only be described as a supernatural way. But this time was different.

I was sitting on the floor of a lake house in northern Idaho. Tears were streaming down my face. As a grown man, in front of half a dozen other people, I had just experienced Jesus in an entirely new way.

It was as if the decade of my faith had come to a new level. Jesus invited me to the table and I sat down with him. I felt fully known and fully loved in a way that changed everything.

Sure, I had experienced Jesus in some ways before. Whether from reading scripture or seeing his face in my mind during worship. There have been moments where I could just see him.

But this was entirely different because I was fully on the floor crying and fully present with Jesus at a table, in my grandparents basement. The smell of the room, the feel of the table, and the sound of his voice saying, “you are always welcome at my table.”

--

--

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
Transformed Faith

Author of 13 books on Amazon with more on the way. I want to help you write your book: jrheimbigner.substack.com