What Does It Mean To Seek God’s Kingdom?

A deep look at Matthew 6:33

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
Transformed Faith

--

Photo by Eric Muhr on Unsplash

“Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.” — Matthew 6:33 (NLT)

I have heard this verse preached many times. It almost always has some connotation with the ‘property gospel.’ Pastors tell us that if we believe in Jesus and follow his ways everything will be great and happy.

Yet, when I come to this verse, I don’t know if that is what God is saying here. Maybe it’s specific to me. Maybe there is something bigger.

Over the last couple of weeks, I have been meditating on this verse. I have tried to start my day and end my day by saying it out loud several times. Along with other times during the day. My hope is to create a way of thinking that brings more into Kingdom thinking rather than worldly thinking.

This was the first verse I felt God led me to meditate on as part of my new way of thinking.

As I have been meditating on it, I have been experiencing lots of consternation over the verse. Something about it has been working deep within my being. While I haven’t felt like the Holy Spirit has given me a lot of insight, the fact that the verse is pulling on…

--

--

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
Transformed Faith

Author of 13 books on Amazon with more on the way. I want to help you write your book: jrheimbigner.substack.com