What It Takes To Follow Jesus

Giving up our lives and taking up his

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
Transformed Faith
Published in
4 min readApr 14, 2021

--

Photo by David Marcu on Unsplash

Jesus asks much of those who follow him, but he doesn’t ask a lot of those who don’t. Just after graduating college and working in my field, I realized Jesus was asking me to do something more than running sports events.

He was calling me down a road that I was not sure I wanted to travel.

Yet, the pull was strong, and the signs were there, and Jesus was making it clear to me. He was asking a lot of me, especially now that I had started the career I had been dreaming to do for years.

I remember how hard it was to make this decision. I weighed the options over and over. Talked with friends and family. Most of them thought I was being foolish, probably still do to this day, but in the end, I decided to follow Jesus.

What was he calling me to do?

He was calling me to go into full-time ministry. It was an interesting calling too. Because it wasn’t to become a pastor or an overseas missionary. It was to share Jesus with people right here in the United States. And, to do it through putting on conferences and events for college students.

While it seemed crazy to a lot of people, I realized, that this was part of the journey Jesus called me to in my life. And, if I hadn’t done it, my…

--

--

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
Transformed Faith

#1 Bestselling Author of 15 books on Amazon | Helping people go from writers to authors, let's chat: https://calendly.com/jrheimbigner/30min