Surrender to what is. Let go of what was. Have faith in what will be.

Mashal Khan
Transforming Mindsets
3 min readNov 18, 2015

- Sonia Ricotti

Integration of image, emotion and gesture

Dear Perfectionist Self,

Thank you for always pushing me to strive for the best. However, I feel that we have lost control over our ambitions. Are we governing the direction of our ambitions or is the fierce sense of growth clouding our judgment? I see you shaking your head vigorously denying the allegation. But Perfectionist Self it has been weeks since the U Lab Case Clinic, I gave in to your persuasions then to a certain degree. The Case Clinic made me realize that there was an underlying issue that needed to be addressed. At that time I had centered my cue to help on how to survive graduate life. Advice elicited was indeed very helpful as I see myself acting upon it. Like skim reading or being comfortable with the fact that understanding of the material might not be immediate but trust that the understanding will eventually come in the future. Although this advice helped lighten the reading material, I still see myself comprising sleep for project work.

Perfectionist Self you have a strong hold over me. I say this because even though I detest the notion of dosing off in class, I unintentionally still do and this arises from the fact that I do not wish to compromise the quality of the work. A bandage of 90-minute power nap has snuck into my nights thanks to our kind Studio Professor Lisa Grocott sharing a New York Times article titled “Relax! You’ll Be More Productive.” This is only a temporary fix as it makes me productive in the night — but by class time the mental alertness has dwindled. Gasp! I can actually feel myself drifting off…noooo! I do not wish for this to continue! This is only the first semester at Transdisciplinary Design. It’s just the beginning! Things are only going to become more challenging going further. I cannot let myself be burnt out this early in the game. I need to pace myself. Therefore, I am questioning your role in my life. Why are we a perfectionist? What events have led us to become a perfectionist? Since you present such biased answers Perfectionist Self I had to rely on secondary research to find the solution. I believe Life Coach Celestine Chua has the ale to our malady. She adequately points out that perfectionism stems from three factors: 1) fierce desire for growth, 2) social expectations and 3) sense of insecurity. You have to admit that unconsciously these three factors are influencing our present lifestyle.

I need to let you go Perfectionist Self. I need to overcome your perfectionist mindset. I’m going to do this by creating personal criteria thereby keeping myself in check to avoid needless overexertion.

Awareness Criteria / Advice to Self:

  • Focus on the big picture. Stop getting lost in minor details. I know this will be a challenge for my design soul. But learn to let go. Assess the importance of particular task and see if letting go would make a huge difference or not.
  • Set realistic design goals. Focus on what can be done in the time allotted. Assign an amount of time for each activity and commit to that allocation.
  • Delegate and let go. Learn to have faith in others. Or assist colleagues if they are facing difficulty with a task. Avoid taking on all the responsibilities as that may hinder a project from reaching it’s potential.

I hereby surrender this unhealthy obsession.

Hope that the awareness criteria will help mitigate you Perfectionist Self.

Sincerely,

Mash

--

--

Mashal Khan
Transforming Mindsets

Strategic Communication and Learning Sharing Manager at Kaarvan Crafts Foundation, Pakistan