To all my bricks

Andrea Karina Burgueño
Transforming Mindsets
1 min readNov 18, 2015

To all my bricks,

Dear bricks, for so many years I used to see you as a sharp material that was holding me back from so many things. You, my naïve bricks believed what I thought, so you started to construct walls. The sad thing is the more you believed me the more walls you constructed. As a natural result I saw so many walls that I kept thinking how sharp you are, and you thought that the only thing that you could build was more walls.

I have to say: I’m sorry. Sorry for not seeing your potential before now.

Now I get it. Now I know that bricks can also construct houses and buildings. And those houses and buildings, instead of creating barriers, can bond friends, families and strangers. I’m impressed to dream of how all my bricks can now transform the construction we had made to shut people out into one that allows freedom, makes bonds and is no longer about creating distance.

I want to recognize in all my bricks the power of transforming the type of construction. Being bricks you always thought that we’d have to change the material, or that we’d have to dismantle everything and start from zero. But can you see that we can simply change the way you bricks are put together? Genius right?

Bricks, I want to challenge you, not just to finish the house that you are making, but to construct more houses not just for yourself but for all of us.

All my best,

Andrea

--

--

Andrea Karina Burgueño
Transforming Mindsets

Hi! I’m Andrea, a Service Designer from Mexico living in NYC. Design is my passion, and nothing beats the smell of morning coffee! ☕🌆