CSUN Reflections

Kunal Mehta
Transportation Data Equity
3 min readApr 17, 2024

A few weeks back, I had the privilege of attending my first CSUN Assistive Technology Conference. Here is a reflection on my time there and my thoughts on one of the biggest themes there — pedestrian way finding and obstacle detection solutions!

As a member of the Taskar Center for Accessible Technology at the University of Washington, I was excited to present about the customized trip planner, AccessMap, powered by the Transportation Data Equity Initiative.

When I moved into working in the accessibility space a few years back in India, I nurtured a dream of going to CSUN someday! And when I got there, I was not one bit disappointed! From the moment I arrived, I could sense the inclusivity radiating throughout the event. Both the hotel and the conference staff were extremely sensitized and ensured that everyone felt welcome and accommodated. Thoughtful design of how the elevators worked, and well-defined pathways made navigating the conference venue easier.

But what impressed me most was not just the logistical aspects; it was the genuine sense of community that permeated every session and social gathering. Whether it was engaging in thought-provoking discussions during presentations or bonding over shared experiences during social events, I felt a strong connection with my fellow attendees. It was heartwarming to see how people from various geographies came together, united by a common passion for accessibility and assistive technology.

One of the main highlights of the conference was exploring the exhibit hall, where cutting-edge innovation in the space was on full display. From innovative mobility solutions to groundbreaking service offerings, I felt like a kid in the candy store!

And then, as I mentioned, there was the opportunity to present my work and the rest of my team’s work at TCAT about AccessMap multimodal. Sharing our vision for a customized trip planner that caters to the needs of individuals who would do better with information beyond mass-produced mapping applications provide was a humbling experience, and the positive feedback we received was incredibly validating. It reinforced my belief in the magic the right combination of data, technological infrastructure, and the computational applications that deliver that combination to the end user can bring.

The work around wayfinding tools for people who are blind and visually impaired was, from my perspective, the largest running theme I picked up at CSUN. Not only the availability of products commercially, but the massive research effort I see in this space tells me that we might be bracing for a breakthrough moment.

Looking at a range of products — wearables from head to toe, and app-based solutions — I am thrilled and convinced of what AccessMap and the TDEI project can contribute to the entire movement towards safe, independent, and efficient indoor and outdoor navigation.

Here are the key differentiators I think AccessMap and the work of the Taskar Center for Accessible Technology can bring. Yes, I am working on this, and I am bound to be biased, but I invite you to read this with a pinch of salt and decide and explore for yourself.

Complementary: We can make most of the solutions in the market more powerful. In other words, the open-source nature of the work, the back-end technology infrastructure, and the use of computer vision and ML models make this project complementary and not a competitor to all the amazing solutions that are available out there.

Customizability: Given the granular data and the ability to handle the scale and complexity of the data, neither we nor our downstream consumers need to worry about developing solutions catering to a particular user group/community. In fact, even the end-user has greater autonomy to customize what they need. Every day is not the same, right?

Sustainability: The fact that the technology infrastructure and the collected data are open source makes it viable for anyone to use this to further their own goals. Speaking of goals, if there is one thing I learned at CSUN, every solution provider in the space is super enthusiastic about making independent, safe, technology-powered mobility a reality. The other aspect of the sustainability piece is that there is no financial burden on the end consumer. In fact, the target is to reduce the cognitive burden each trip can pose on a pedestrian.

--

--