Nite Ize S-Biner and DoohicKey: A Review

Tiny trinkets that prove to be more useful than you think

kaden
Travel, etc.

--

Photo by author

The Nite Ize DoohicKey is one of the first pieces of travel gear that validated my obsession. As everyone in my family will tell you, I spend a little too much time and money on travel gear and also talk too much about it.

I rave over bags and trinkets and whatever I think may be useful on my next adventure. But, of course, as much as one can brag about the amount of gear they have, it only matters if it actually proves to be useful instead of a waste of space. For these tiny trinkets, they certainly turned out to be worth their weight in gold.

It may be a little embarrassing that I remember this so well, but one day in Lusaka, Zambia, when I was eating lunch with my fiancée and her family, we needed a bottle opener and I had the DoohicKey. I proudly pulled it off of my keys (which were attached to my belt loop by the S-Biner) and opened everyone’s bottles.

Then, my fiancée’s mother said something along the lines of “Wow, you seem to have something for every situation.” I don’t remember the exact words, but it was all the validation I needed to continue buying travel gear I thought might be useful. That trip would prove to be one of the first testing grounds for my travel gear experiments.

The Product

The Nite Ize S-Biner and DoohicKey are both miniscule pieces of gear to add to your repertoire. They take up almost no space and don’t add much bulk to your keys, each of them clipping on with their own carabiner features.

The S-Biner is a modular carabiner, with an opening on either side. This is so that you don’t have to worry about your keys falling off of the clip when using the other side of the carabiner. It is a strong stainless steel material meant to be durable and long-lasting.

The DoohicKey is a small multitool that also boasts a carabiner clip to be attached wherever you need it. The carabiner feature is considerably smaller than that of the S-Biner, but the DoohicKey includes features like a ruler, wrench, bottle opener, box cutter and flathead screwdriver in a pinch.

The Usage

I have had these as two essential EDC pieces for quite some time now. I can’t even really remember how long ago I bought these, and I’ve brought them everywhere with me ever since. Given their size, there’s almost no excuse not to bring them along — adding almost no weight and taking up almost no space in your pack.

As I mentioned in the previous anecdote, the DoohicKey’s most useful tool is the bottle opener, and other than the box cutting feature (which works if you’re in a tight spot, though is certainly not as good as a knife), I haven’t gotten the chance to make use of any of the other features.

The S-Biner is what I use to hold my keys in my daily use and while I travel. It is very durable with the stainless steel material and had only minor wear on the black colorway because of the constant metal of the keys and DoohicKey rubbing up against it. My only other gripe with the S-Biner isn’t particular to the Nite Ize brand itself, but at times when using one of the clips, my hand accidentally opens the other as well, allowing my keys to slip off, though this happens only very rarely.

Overall, I am very confident in both of these products, and at such an affordable price point, they are must-haves in my EDC setup. I couldn’t imagine leaving the house without them if for no other reason than how easy it is to take them and how useful they prove to be when I do.

Nite Ize S-Biner Specs

  • High quality stainless steel construction
  • Available in 5 sizes / 2 finishes
  • Secure stainless steel wire gate closure
  • Size #1
  • Dimensions: 0.6″ x 1.6″ x 0.2″ | 16mm x 40mm x 6mm
  • Weight Rating: 5 lbs.
  • Size #2
  • Dimensions: 0.8″ x 1.9″ x 0.3″ | 22mm x 49mm x 8mm
  • Weight Rating: 10 lbs.
  • Size #3
  • Dimensions: 1.2″ x 2.7″ x 0.4″ | 30mm x 68mm x 10mm
  • Weight Rating: 25 lbs.
  • Size #4
  • Dimensions: 1.6″ x 3.5″ x 0.4″ | 40mm x 90mm x 11mm
  • Weight Rating: 75 lbs.
  • Size #5
  • Dimensions: 1.9″ x 4.4″ x 0.5″ | 50mm x 112mm x 13mm
  • Weight Rating: 100 lbs.

Nite Ize DoohicKey Specs

  • Key-sized multi-tool that easily attaches to an existing key chain or strap
  • Secure stainless steel construction
  • A variety of useful tools in a compact, easy to use design
  • Includes: Box cutter, bottle opener, wrench (1/4″, 5/16″, and 3/8″), ruler (inches and centimeters), and flathead screwdriver
  • Available in Black or Stainless
  • TSA Friendly

Check the price at Nite Ize: S-Biner and DoohicKey.

If you like what I do and want to support, buy me a coffee.

--

--