But Mal, how do you make money?

Mallory Brown
Travel Mal
Published in
4 min readSep 18, 2019

I’m asked this weekly, so it’s about time I answer.

The currency in Madagascar is called “ariary.” We raised $12,871 for a local charity (which converts to 46 million ariary!)

How do you make money??

I travel the world to tell meaningful stories and help others. It doesn’t seem like a lucrative job. I am constantly asked how I support myself. While I admit that I’m driven by passion and not a paycheck…I’m not starving either. In an effort to be transparent (please be kind in the comments), I will tell you the honest truth how I make money.

First, lets clear up a few rumors:

  1. I do not take a cut of donations. When I publish my fundraisers, 100% of your money is sent directly to the on-the-ground nonprofit. When you hit the donate button, I can’t see your credit card number or touch your dollars. It goes straight to the cause.
  2. I am not independently wealthy. I’m not. Simple as that.
  3. I do not travel for free. I buy my own plane tickets, thank you very much.
  4. Nobody hires me to do this. One of the biggest mistakes people make is waiting around for their dream job to fall into their lap. When I’m asked, “How did you get this job?” I laugh and reply, “I made it up.” Here’s how: a few years ago, I was working in social impact for two different companies when out of the blue, both ended my consulting contract. I found myself out of a job yet operating at my highest level of talent. I was really making an impact in impoverished communities, loving my work, and developing an incredibly rare skillset. I knew I couldn’t put that talent to waste, so I created Walk A Mile. This was never a job posting. It was my invention.

Got it. Now back to the money question:

I, like most entrepreneurs, have multiple streams of income.

Keynote Speech at Fiat Chrysler Automotive

40% of my income comes from speaking. As a professional keynote speaker, I speak at conventions, corporate meetings, and executive retreats about creating impact through empathy. Watch my speaker reel here. I am hired by companies focused on their “give back” efforts, corporate culture, and innovative leadership.

40% of my income comes from consulting. Right now, I run the digital presence for a nonprofit that fights genocide globally called American Friends of Yahad-In Unum. Last fall, I helped create this video for Lyft as they launched a beautifully impactful program to help Detroit Public Schools.

Only 20% of my income comes from Walk A Mile. I find my own sponsors to fund each mile. 75% of the sponsorship covers travel costs, legal costs, and film production costs. The remaining 25% of the sponsorship is my “producer fee” for which I create storylines, find nonprofits, plan travel, produce, write, direct, edit, publish, and advocate for each of the 26 episodes. Visas. Vaccinations. Navigating foreign countries. Jet lag. Crowdfunding. Sit-down meetings with donors. Press. Social media. Thank yous. This is by far the hardest part of my job. It’s a ridiculous amount of work, but I BELIEVE in the women I am helping…and I do the work for them.

Filming in Uganda for Walk A Mile

In the future, I plan to write a book, teach others how to start social enterprises, and continue to break down barriers to the developing world.

I love my job, but I hustle for every penny I earn. I probably make less money than my instagram profile leads you to believe. I’m happy with that. I have learned to value experiences, knowledge, culture, and passion more than material possessions. I have seen the world. I have helped thousands of people and perhaps inspired even more. I’d rather live this life than drive a new car.

To all the 9–5ers, 8–6ers, or 7–7ers who want to quit their jobs and “get paid to travel,” I hope this helps you understand the complexity and flexibility you must be willing to embrace. You’ll probably work harder for more uncertain income…but if you can roll with that, the journey is worth it. To all the entrepreneurs who want to “follow their passion” and “save the world,” please know that you will probably need to be open minded toward your income streams. Passion doesn’t always equal paycheck.

To all those in the journey with me, onward!

--

--