Why Women?

Mallory Brown
Travel Mal
Published in
2 min readJul 11, 2018

Good question.

Women work two-thirds of the world’s working hours but only earn 10% of the world’s income.* ONLY 10%!! This is crazy. This needs to change.

The economic empowerment of women is one of the most effective way to fight extreme poverty. Investing in women not only supports a population in need, but is also the key for longterm, sustainable change. Women reinvest 90% of their income into healthcare, nutrition, education, and wellbeing of their children and communities.

For me, it’s also personal.

In the past eight years, I have had the honor of capturing stories of human kindness across our globe. In all my humanitarian efforts, I have been most deeply moved by the stories of impoverished women fighting for a better life. Perhaps it’s my own feminine instinct or my career a female entrepreneur, but I see myself in each of their eyes.

Walking one mile with each of these women is such a simple act but provides an incredible avenue for empathy. It breaks down barriers between cultures and joins people together based on our commonalities. This is a walk of compassion, understanding, and generosity.

*PCI Global — Our World’s Remarkable Women

--

--