CAMINO DE SANTIAGO

Following in Her Brother’s Footsteps

My sister is ready to begin her Camino journey

Darren Weir
Travel Memoirs
Published in
4 min readMay 6, 2024

--

Wall art shows a silhouette of St. James, wearing a long robe and a wide-brimmed hat. He holds a staff with a cross at the top and a small bag that is attached
Camino wall art in SpainDarren Weir

Seven months after one of the biggest physical challenges of my life, my sister is about to walk in my footsteps along one of the most challenging treks in the world.

The Camino de Santiago is no walk in the park. It’s an excruciating journey that puts your body to the test.

You have to be prepared for it… and she is.

She read all of my stories about my marathon journey and I shared all of my training advice and the things I would do differently. She’s taken that advice to heart.

The one thing that I didn’t do enough of in my training was consistent hikes with my full backpack on. I continued to add kilometers although nothing can prepare you for the grueling schedule of ten, twenty and even thirty kilometers or more of walking every single day for two weeks with a ten or twenty-pound backpack on.

During my training, I would take some days off. “It’s too cold out” or “It’s supposed to rain all day,” were enough for me to hang up my hiking shoes. Tomorrow is another day. But when you are on the Camino, you don’t have the luxury of taking the day off. At least it wasn’t an option for my friend and me. I pre-booked our…

--

--

Darren Weir
Travel Memoirs

I write about Travel, Photography, Music - Parasol Publications Editor - Publisher of Travel Memoirs - TV News Producer (retired)