TRAVEL MEMOIRS

Holding My Nose in Fez, Morocco

Touring the Medina and the colorful open-air tannery

Darren Weir
Travel Memoirs
Published in
8 min readApr 24, 2024

--

View of open-air tannery with vats of different colored dyes in the middle of the photo and yellow buildings on each side. Brown hides are drying on the walls of the building on the right side.
Chouara Tannery, Fez, Morocco Darren Weir

Morocco is one country that has been at the top of my “must-see” list for a long time but something always got in the way of my plans. Not this time though. Even a strong earthquake wouldn’t stop me. I teamed up with a friend of mine to explore Morocco’s beauty, its culture and customs, the food, the markets and the infamous leather tanneries. I was finally going to experience it all.

After Marrakesh, the High Atlas Mountains and the Sahara, Fez had a lot to live up to.

It was a long drive from our luxury camp in the desert. The landscape was constantly changing from the golden sands of the Sahara to the alpine forest of Ifrane in the mid-Atlas Mountains. In the next few months, in winter, the higher altitude means that this area becomes snow-covered. Who knew it snowed in Morocco? Not me.

“I Love Ifrane” sign; Ifrane water fountains in central parkDarren Weir

As we drove along the mountain road we were lucky to see some macaque monkeys that live in the forest. Our driver told us they were usually visible earlier in the day, but a few were still wandering around the forest near the…

--

--

Darren Weir
Travel Memoirs

I write about Travel, Photography, Music - Parasol Publications Editor - Publisher of Travel Memoirs - TV News Producer (retired)