TRAVEL MEMOIRS

Investing in Adventure: Why Travel Experiences Outperform Any Portfolio

Seeing the World vs. Owning the World

Ash Jurberg
Travel Memoirs
Published in
5 min readMay 15, 2024

--

Traveller sitting on top of a rock overlooking a beautiful beach and mountain
Source: Adobe Library

I smiled and shook my head, taking a sip of my summer sour beer. We sat at our usual brewery hangout, catching up for David’s birthday. “You gotta get in on this new sports car,” he insisted. “It has the latest tech and goes 0 to 100 in under two seconds. I’ve already ordered one.”

Simon chimed in, “Nice. I’m building a new pool at my vacation home down on the coast.”

We have been friends for over twenty years, and as we became entrenched in middle age, it seemed our twice-yearly reunions inevitably descended into pissing contests about assets, investments, and the latest luxuries. I listened, knowing they had no clue about the exponentially richer portfolio I’d cultivated.

Memories over materials

As they droned on about shares, crypto, and retirement portfolios, their conversation triggered memories of my adventures, reaffirming my belief in investing in travel experiences.

Like when I found myself lost without accommodation in the winding streets of Tallinn’s Old Town. It had been a spur-of-the-moment decision to take the ferry from Helsinki to Tallinn for a night. The…

--

--