SEVILLE SOCIETY

Seville Is a Lot More Than Oranges and Architecture

Of all the places I’ve traveled, this is where I would live

Ellen Eastwood
Travel Memoirs
Published in
6 min readFeb 10, 2024

--

The well-manicured yard of a 16th century home including benches and a fountain
The gardens of Casa de Pilatos, a 16th century home in Seville / Photo by author

I’m lucky enough to have seen a lot of the world, and I form something of a bond with every new place I visit. When the time comes, I’m usually a little sad to leave. But there was something about saying goodbye to Seville, Spain that felt more like leaving a friend than a place.

On my last day, I walked around to all my favorite streets, squares, and landmarks and stared at them longingly, pangs in my chest. I even went to the park to say goodbye to the bright green parakeets whose twitters echo from the palm trees. I was missing it all before I’d even left.

Seville has imprinted on me in a way I couldn’t have imagined before I arrived. I only spent two weeks there but it already feels like home.

Sun-drenched, but not sweet

There are obvious reasons to love this city, one of the southernmost in Europe. First of all, the sun shines, like, always. I had one day of cloud cover but otherwise, it was gorgeously bright. Even their January sun, which sits a little lower in the sky, is big and bold and, coming from a place that had twenty-seven days of gray last month, gave me all the endorphins.

--

--

Ellen Eastwood
Travel Memoirs

Culture and lifestyle writer | Generalist | Curious | Witty on a good day | Contact: elleneastwood@outlook.com