FORGET TRAINS, PLANES, AND AUTOMOBILES

Tuk Tuks, Funiculars, and Cable Cars, Oh My!

When you love travel, but not traveling

Ellen Eastwood
Travel Memoirs
Published in
6 min readJun 13, 2024

--

View of a town in Colombia nestled into the green Andes mountains
Jardin, Colombia / Photo by author

I once went to a theater where the seats moved with the visuals on screen. The movie was about a theme park, specifically a roller coaster. As the camera brought us up, down, and around the seats shook accordingly.

Sitting through it was my personal version of hell. As soon as it was over I stumbled outside and hung myself over a trash can, convinced I was about to revisit lunch.

All my life, I’ve dreaded heights, amusement park rides, and anything involving a significant amount of jostling. In my 20s, I tried Big Thunder Mountain Railroad, Disney’s roller coaster for children. It’s much tamer than the average coaster, but my petrified screams would’ve won me a role in Psycho.

Tuk tuks

Unfortunately for a traveler like me, many forms of local transportation involve a high jostle factor. The tuk tuk is a good example. If you’ve never ridden in one, it’s essentially a motorized vehicle with three wheels.

They’re great because they’re nimble enough to navigate rough terrain with relative stability. But for someone like me, they’re also not great, because they respond to every little…

--

--

Ellen Eastwood
Travel Memoirs

Culture and lifestyle writer | Generalist | Curious | Witty on a good day | Contact: elleneastwood@outlook.com