The Decision to Leave

My experience accepting a job as an Au Pair

Britta Williams
Travel Narrative

--

It started out harmless.

A casual conversation with a friend of a friend about the year she spent abroad working as an au pair in Australia.

The scars still fresh from a failed five-year relationship, I was searching for a cure to the pain. An exit strategy.

Not to mention I hated my job, and the direction it was taking me.

Arriving in my empty windowless office I found myself in front of my computer googling “au pair jobs abroad” and “best countries to be an au pair”. I had an hour each morning before my office was filled with noisey nosey woman. And I used this time to indulge in my fantasies of moving abroad.

Without any expectations I made a profile on an au pair website. Answered three simple questions. Where do you want to go? How long do you want to stay? When do you want to leave? Anywhere, Forever, Now.

Next thing I know my inbox is filled with inquiries from families all over the world. Australia, Italy, France, Germany. I found myself emailing back and forth with dozens of families. Setting up Skype interviews at odd hours of the night.

Okay this is getting more serious.

A hesitant call to my Dad and then my step-Dad. Too nervous to talk to my Mom and explain what I was considering doing.

A couple months went by. I had found an amazing family in Dusseldorf, Germany. The mother was from Charleston (the city I had made my home the past 6 years) and it felt like a sign that this was the perfect match. But after looking over the visa guidelines for an au pair, there was one hiccup. A new law stated that I had to pass a German test before starting the visa process. Learn German in a month? Not going to happen. And so it was over.

Well that was fun. But really? What was I trying to accomplish? Did I think running away would be that easy?

A couple more weeks went by, and I had ended my search.

I’m not sure why I went back on that website and broadened my profile to include one more country, Denmark.

The first family I came across had three little boys. Well that’s too many. Everything I had read said that first time au pairs should stick with two kids at most.

I sent them a message anyways. What the hell? I’m not really going to leave anyways.

Next thing I know I’m skyping with them at 6:00 pm my time and Midnight their time. Immediately I loved them. They were so friendly and warm.

Could I really move to Denmark? God its so cold there. But I went to college with a girl who was studying abroad from Denmark. Might be nice to know at least ONE person.

One more skype “interview”. And then a follow up email.

“Hi Britta,

I have been in contact with many other interested au pairs ( suppose it’s quite trendy to work as an au pair in Denmark at the moment).We both think that you undoubtedly match our family perfect and would like to offer you the job as an au pair from the middle of January and as long as you like (max 24 months). I am sure that we will get on well, that you will be a big help in our everyday life and that we can offer you a really great stay here in Denmark and hopefully a long-standing friendship☺”

Okay, now I think I really found the perfect family. I drove home the next weekend to talk with my mom and step dad about me possibly accepting this.

The host family gives me two weeks to make a decision.

Battling back and forth whether moving away for an entire year is something I could actually do. The stress and excitement about this decision completely overwhelming me.

Five days till my decision deadline. Drunkenly blurt out at a party that I am moving to Denmark. Most likely out of defense that I was doing just fine after my recent break-up. Okay, if I start telling people about this then I will have to do it.

One day till my decision deadline. One last phone call to my step dad. He asks one basic question.

“If you don’t move to Denmark, will you be sad?”.

The answer was simple. “Yes”.

“Well…I guess you are moving to Denmark then”.

And that was it. I hung up the phone. Immediately I typed up an email to accept the position for one year in Denmark. Just have to press send. Rocking in a chair on the front porch with my roommate. I can’t believe I’m doing this. Anxiety and excitement swelling up in the pit of my stomach. I press down on the enter key. Heart skips a beat. Okay. That’s it. The email is sent. I look over at my roommate. I can’t believe I did it. I’m not all talk anymore. I’m actually moving. To Denmark. That’s 4,400 miles away.

I’ve been in Odense, Denmark for 4 months now, and I can say, without a doubt that running away was the best thing I ever did. My host family is a perfect match. I’ve made some amazing friends. I’ve already traveled to 4 different countries. With plans to travel to 5 more in the next two months. Being an au pair has finally enabled me to travel as much as I’ve always wanted. I thought a life like this wasn't possible. But not anymore. Now I’m chasing the World. And damnit if it’s not the most beautiful thing ever.

--

--

Britta Williams
Travel Narrative

Filled with wanderlust, left everything that was holding me back, and became an au pair in Denmark