Hometown Series: Ora Beach

Maluku, Indonesia

Achmad Alkatiri
Travel Story
Published in
3 min readSep 28, 2013

--

Everyone has a hometown, a city or town where you had your very first baby step, said your very first word. A place where you grew up. Mine is islands in east of Indonesia, located between Sulawesi and Papua: Maluku (Moluccas).

Before the sectarian conflict erupted in 1999, Maluku was known by domestic and international travelers as one of the favorite destination. But since the conflict broke up, people have been avoiding this region. Safety is the major concern. Even the conflict ended in 2002 and it’s completely safe now, travelers, including Indonesians are still worried to travel to Maluku. Sad.

For me, Maluku is all-in-one destination. Spectacular underwater, great food, unique culture, friendly people and of course: amazing beaches. I’ll tell you more in the future Hometown Series, but for now, allow me to introduce one of our amazing beach: Ora.

Sunset in Ora beach. Photo: @almascatie.

In total, it takes more than 5 hours with ferry, car and a small boat to get here from Ambon, the capital city of Maluku. But when you’re there and see it, you will be more than happy to take another 5 hours if it’s needed as long as it brings you there. Ora beach has every reason to be on the list of best beach you’ve ever been. Believe me, I’ve been to so many beautiful beaches (I love beaches!), but Ora definitely knocked my brains out.

Ora Beach Resort. Photo: @ferryrusli.

The perfect way to spend your days in Ora, is by staying at Ora Beach Resort. They have super awesome overwater bungalows with its own private balcony and coral reefs right in front of it. Grab snorkel equipment from one of the resort staff and you’re ready for a great snorkeling experience.

Ora’s sunset sky. Photo: @almascatie.

My favorite time in Ora was actually watch the sun goes down and see the color of sky change dramatically. It was a moment I hoped the time stands still. It was speechless. I know, I sound like a mad man and you probably think “of course you say that it’s your hometown!” —then, you also need to read what Indohoy and Marischka Prudence think about Ora.

Even after 17 years I spent in Maluku, there are still so many things my hometown can surprise me. How awesome is that.

Happiness is… going back to my hometown for the holidays.

--

--

Achmad Alkatiri
Travel Story

A nyong Maluku who believes Indonesia has so much to offer & wants to visit 34 provinces in Indonesia before 25yo in 2014. 7 more to go.