A Memorable Trip to the Port City of Caribbean | Cartagena, Columbia

Danny Brown
Travel Tips And Experiences
3 min readApr 22, 2021

My beloved sister was about to get married, she surely deserves some good time and memories of us before leaving us. So we planned a surprise trip for her to Cartagena, Columbia. We booked our flights to Cartagena for five people. All of us knew to expect from her. The only reason I agreed on this plan was that she loves to travel, and traveling makes me sick.

Trip To Cartagena Columbia

But somehow, I gathered courage and asked my cousins to confirm the tickets. But it still made me feel giddy throughout till we reached the airport. Our journey was about 6–7 hours from O’Hare International Airport to Cartagena Rafael Nunez Airport, with one stop at Miami. To be honest, I actually enjoyed the journey. Only take-off and landings were scary for me. This was the first time I was traveling with my sister and cousins and probably the last time.

After getting out at the airport, we took a cab and drove straight to the Airbnb. I need a long nap before doing anything else after that long and tiring journey. Party was on for the entire night; I joined late after a nap. The next day was comparatively much better for me. We had plans to go out sightseeing around the city. As a history geek, this day was my favorite. We visited some really unique places like-

  • Palace of the Inquisition.
  • Clock Tower Monument.
  • Santuario de san Pedro Claver.

And at the end of the day, we went to the Convent of Santa Cruz De La Popa hilltop. We sat for about two hours and captured so many pictures. The best part about a girl’s trip is the pictures. You get to click so many images with different angles, and it is amusing. I saw my sister so happy after so long. She has always been away for education than for her career, and in this short time she was home, she was always busy shopping and meetings for her wedding. This was the time I finally could some time with her. She was five years older than me and always treated me like a daughter. I am going to miss my second mom. I just want to keep that warm overwhelming feeling in my heart.

After such a fun and tiresome day, we wanted to have a lavish dinner, so we went to a rooftop restaurant known as Alquimico Bar ROOFTOP DE OUF and enjoyed our evening. The food was delicious, and the ambiance and crowd were energetic, and so was the music. We grooved to the music, did some steps and went back to our room, and slept the night like a baby.

All of us were most excited for the coming day. We were going swimming and snorkeling around the coral reefs of the Rosario Islands. We spent an entire day in the waters. It was the best day of the trip. We had so much fun and tried some fantastic seafood. A relaxing day with no stress, just us lying down free-minded on the beach. After such a wonderful day, we wanted to make our night memorable too. So we visited a bar and enjoyed ourselves the whole night. We came back to our rooms at 4 am in morning.

The last day was just a relaxing day in the central city. We walked around and enjoyed the local scenery. The streets were so well maintained, with ladies wearing colorful clothes and selling fruits — Wall art on most roads, pretty flower balconies, and street music. We also did some shopping. I picked up a locket for my sister as a memory of the trip, which I thought to give her on her wedding night. I will also cherish this trip except for the traveling part, which was fun, apart from the take-off and landings. We board a night flight with the help of JetBlue Airlines Reservations for home, I would recommend you to try out their flights and services. They have some super in-flight services and deals on their round trip. Anyway, we got back to the hectic wedding preparations schedule. But we all had a really great time.

--

--

Danny Brown
Travel Tips And Experiences

Hey guys, it’s your new friend Danny Brown. I am very down to earth person. I just believe in inner beauty and I am very passionate about travelling.