What foreigners have to try in Egypt?

André Fernandes
Milione Travel Tips
3 min readMay 21, 2015

Hey fellas, if you are in Egypt or plan to travel there, I write some tips of what you have to try and get in touch with local culture. Although it’s a Muslim country, you can find alcohol, don’t worry! Just be discret with alcohol in the streets, got the point? (I explain below!)

One of the most interesting aspects of travelling is to try what we can’t where we live, right? That’s why I’m sharing the following tips.

Shisha: my first impression of Egypt was… Pyramids? Desert? Belly dancing? No! And the answer is…. SHISHA EVERYWHERE! You even feel the smell of the essences in the streets! There are all kinds of flavors, trust me! I don’t need to say I’m a shisha lover!

Ah, just imagine your favorite flavor!

Koshary: The most popular dish in Egypt, it’s a mix of pasta + lentils + chickpea +fried onions + pasta sauce + a little of oil + some spice (optional).

My first koshary in Egypt!!!

Fayrouz: non-alcoholic drink (unfortunately ☹) that remembers the best guaraná beverage from Brazil, Guaraná Antarctica! You can find it at local supermarkets, corner stores and kiosks. PS: I like to mix it with vodka, so good!!!

Fayrouz, a beverage you can find at supermarkets and kiosks in Egypt

Shawerma: for those who’ve never heard about this name, Shawerma looks like a kebab. A kind of sandwich with bread containing roasted meat, tomato and onion.

Shawerma being prepared!

Stella Beer: it’s just my advice! If you don’t drink, it’s OK! If you’re like me, you always try the local beers wherever you travel. In Egypt, try Stella, the most common you find at drink stores.

A bottle of Stella beer

Be careful to don’t carry alcohol in the streets. Egyptians are mostly welcoming, but when they feel offended, they want to fight…

That’s what may happen if you drink alcohol in front of many Egyptians

Tammeya: actually, it’s the falafel, made with chickpea fried with sauces + salad + a bread. It remembers the Brazilian dish acarajé.

Tammeya. Pic taken from http://itinerandi.net/

Foul: a mix of beans + oil + vegetables. It’s eaten with the sheme, a local bread.

Example of a foul as you find in Egyptian streets. Pic taken from Wikipedia.

Molokhia: a kind of soup cooked with coriander, garlic and stock, often served with rabbit or chicken.

Molokhia. Pic taken from alternativeegypt.com

If I remember other dishes, I’ll add. I hope you enjoy!

For travel tips and questions, you can reach me on Twitter, Instagram and on Facebook.

--

--

André Fernandes
Milione Travel Tips

My purpose: help others to discover different places, cultures and perspectives! Born in Brazil to be a global citizen!