Autonomous farmers market Exarchia Square

An autonomous farmers market held in Exarchia Square in Athens.

Keith Parkins
Travel Writers
1 min readOct 21, 2018

--

autonomous farmers market Exarchia Square

An informal market of local producers in the heart of the anarchist district of Athens.

Goats cheese, nuts, fruit and vegetables, honey, peanut butter, olive oil, wine, soap.

First and third Sunday of the month.

I bought excellent goats cheese, peanut butter and pistachio nuts.

Exarchia can be a dangerous area of Athens, be wary.

I was informed faircoin in use on the market. I saw no evidence of this. I made inquiries of stallholders and drew a blank.

There was food, free food, but by the time I had looked around, all gone.

I learnt of another market every day bar Sunday, in a squatted building, no prices, pay what you wish.

I then climbed a nearby hill, Strefi Hill.

On the way to the market, I passed Taf, an excellent coffee shop, which I thought I would visit later. Sadly not open on a Sunday.

Luckily Warehouse nearby was open, which I paid a visit.

--

--

Keith Parkins
Travel Writers

Writer, thinker, deep ecologist, social commentator, activist, enjoys music, literature and good food.