Arches and Canyonlands National Park + Monument Valley

Max Berger
Travel Yung
Published in
2 min readDec 22, 2016
This is probably my favorite picture thus far. Taken at the Green River Overlook in Canyonlands National Park. It’s truly a remarkable view. Sunset was insanely cold…well into the mid 30s and dropping fast. We had just finished shooting and had ran back into the car to warm up. But out of no where that shade of red sliced across the sky and I had to run out and grab the photo. I’m glad I did.
This is landscape arch. It’s as long as a football field. It was hard to get any good photos with the whole thing in it, so I gave up and just took one with Lexie to give it some scale.
Lexie showing off her shooting skills
My travel partner.
This is Delicate Arch. It’s not the biggest, tallest, widest, or longest arch. However, it’s by far the most proportional and thus sees the most visitors. It’s hard to get a good picture during the day due to shadows, so I walked around and had to shoot up at it. Although it’s always crowded, I can’t recommend this enough.
Canyonlands. This was on our journey down White Rim Road which explores down into the canyon and lets you get a better look at the Island in the Sky district. Another reason why 4x4 and high clearance is always better.
False Kiva. Really cool to think that this place is over a thousand years old. I will eventually return here to take a night photo.
Monument Valley and it’s infamous buttes.
Monument Valley

--

--