The Van

Max Berger
Travel Yung
Published in
2 min readOct 28, 2016

I call her the Gator. Even though Jesse, the guy I bought it from said don’t, I still do it anyways. It got the name from the Craigslist ad that I read. I sent it to Lexie, my girlfriend, and she responds with one of the lines from the listing, “Purrs like a swamp gator.”

Year: 1984

Make: Dodge

Model: Van Charger (It’s actually a normal B-250)

Conversion: The 4x4 conversion and lift was done by Pathfinder Industries who was taking Fords, Dodges, and Chevys and making them four wheel drive. The thing is, the lift wasn’t very solid, and so most are dead. The Gator is likely one of the last ones running (mainly due to the fact that it was brought back to life over the course of three owners)

Motor: Rebuilt 360. I know, I know, it could be bigger, but I don’t care. I’m not towing horses.

Interior: I built the interior myself, and plan to write a post on it in the Photography section with more pictures.

Joshua Tree Natl Park
White Pocket, Vermillion Cliffs National Monument, AZ.
White Pocket, Vermillion Cliffs National Monument: With the awning out, it’s just an amazing setup.
Bryce Canyon Natl Park

--

--