The Wave

Max Berger
Travel Yung
Published in
2 min readOct 28, 2016

The Wave is just spectacular. A true natural wonder. But for me, what made it was having the place to myself. Being able to just sit on the bottom, lay down, and enjoy the place without any one else around was almost spiritual. You keep touching the rock, wondering how the hell it was made and how it got those colors in the same pattern. Then you wonder how long it took the rocks to take shape. It’s just incredible. I only got a few pictures due to being rushed (I didn’t want to get caught) and the fact that it was in the shadow. Oh well.

Edit: I’ve been urged to give more context on why one would even get caught being at The Wave. To keep the crowds at bay (and the experience special), the BLM enforces probably the strictest permitting systems on the planet. You can either get a permit online or in person. In person, your odds are 20 permits out of 250 groups applying. Online, they’re way worse. The penalty for going to The Wave without a permit is $1,200. Clearly, this wasn’t enough to stop me. I was able to get my hands on a map that had the GPS coordinates and knew that this would likely be one of my only chances to see one of the worlds true natural wonders. I wrote more about this adventure here.

The hike there alone was something else. Coyote Buttes North is just spectacular.
As I approached, I made sure not to disturb the water. That reflection was just too perfect.
It’s a race track!
So damn cool.

--

--