Florence, Italy

Tyler Norton
Traveling Bostonian
2 min readJun 4, 2018

My first time in Italy

First of all, a huge thank you to my sister’s friend Michelle for letting me stay on her couch for the weekend. She was studying abroad at the time and took time to include me in stuff and help me get by knowing literally no Italian. Unfortunately, at the time I did not make a habit of writing about my experiences. So this is far far after the fact, but I do still remember a few things.

Florence is very walkable and I would highly recommend just getting lost on the streets and figuring out what neat things you can find. I’d also recommend going across the river to The Boboli Gardens, a big maze of vegetation on a steep hill. When you get to the top you get an awesome view of Florence and the Tuscan countryside.

Climbing to the top of the Duomo is another definite to do. The views are spectacular from the catwalk at the top and it is the highest point in Florence. Lastly, find yourself some gelato. It is delicious. The further off the beaten path the better.

--

--