Orte, Italy

Help Exchange on an equestrian training farm

Tyler Norton
Traveling Bostonian
2 min readMay 4, 2017

--

I worked and stayed on a farm in Orte, Italy that I found on helpx.net. I stayed with Monica and Carlo in their guest house and had an amazing experience! They have an equestrian farm where they train horses for olympic equestrian competitions. Carlo was even an olympic medalist back in the day.

Some photos from around the farm

I stayed out in their guest house and cleaned up after the horses, fed the horses, and painted some new jumps for their training ground while I was there. It was an amazing break from my everyday reality. No phone service, limited internet, and beautiful surroundings. I would highly recommend The Help Exchange for budget travelers to experience a new lifestyle, meet new friends, and find great places around the world that are willing to exchange work for cheap accommodations! I will say that if you are traveling, it is WELL worth the $10 for the premium membership.

Special note for my best dog friend on the farm Ariel. She was an older dog, but every day when I work up she’d be waiting for me, and she would always be next to me all day while I was working. Such a great pup.

--

--