#2 Hiking Quandary

Morgan McLane
Traveling MMM
Published in
2 min readDec 14, 2018

This summer my family and I went to Breckenridge Colorado. We went during the 4th of July and during our time there we did various things which included shopping, hiking, spending time at the Grand Lodge resort, and spending time with my family. One day me and my family decided to go on a hike and we intended to go hike Mohawk Lake but we ended up on quandary. This particular hike is a fourteener. Which means the mountain is 14,000 feet high. We only made it about a quarter of the way up before it was about to rain so we headed down. My mom and I decided we wanted to do this hike the next day and to do that we had to head there at 6 am because it usually starts to rain in the afternoon. The next morning we both woke up bright and early and headed to quandary. The hike was about 4 miles up and took us about 8 hours in total to hike it. As we were getting closer to the top we had to take frequent breaks because the air was getting thinner. With about 2 more miles till the top there wasn’t a dirt path in fact there was barley a path at all it was just 2 miles of hiking on broken rock. The non existing path made it much harder to hike and at this point on our hike it was getting very steep an hard to climb up. Making it to the top made our experience very worth it. The view was amazing I could see so far and seeing the other mountains and valleys was beautiful. The hardest part was what we had to face after making it to the top, it was the climb down. It was unbelievably steep that we were afraid to even attempt to make it down. On our way down I only rolled my ankles and a few times and tripped and fell into a pile of rocks! After our big accomplishment we celebrated with our family and friends at the grand Lodge. I plan on doing more challenging hikes in the future.

--

--