Uber Alternatives in Colombia

As of January 31st, 2020 Uber has left Colombia and the app is useless. So what are your alternatives if you need to get around?

Valentin Despa
Travelling with Valentine
2 min readFeb 8, 2020

--

A regular taxi

I had my fair share of mediocre to bad experiences with Taxis in Colombia. So I can’t really recommend them. While there are literally everywhere, I did notice some issues with them:

  • most of the cars are super small and there is no place for luggage
  • some of the cars are in a really bad condition (I haven’t seen such cars not even in Southeast Asia!)
  • most of the cars have no A/C
  • if you don’t stay near a busy street, it is hard to find one
  • once the driver obviously was under the influence but I noticed that only after we got started

EasyTaxi / Tappsi Easy (Cabify)

Tappsi Easy (Cabify) is a taxi app that should have been the obvious winner from the withdrawal of Uber. You can pay using a card and you can leave a rating. This is what most gringos in Colombia want anyway. From my point of view, they have managed to shoot themselves in the foot! Read here why I think you should not use Cabify.

InDriver

InDriver is a ride-sharing app like I have never seen before. It was recommended by some locals in Cartagena and it seems to work everywhere in Colombia. Read how InDriver works and how to set it up.

Other services that I did NOT try

--

--

Valentin Despa
Travelling with Valentine

Software developer, educator & overlander • GitLab Hero • AWS Community Builder • Postman Supernova • Imprint: http://vdespa.com/imprint