Don’t look at travelling as a “must”!

Luis Dias
Travelosophy
Published in
2 min readNov 27, 2017

My last travel was to Rio de Janeiro on June this year. It was my second time there this year and I stayed there for 2 weeks. I have family and friends there so it was a great way to know the city, bringing back home more stories and memories from daily life than of spots than I mark as “checked”, taking in account the time I was there.

When I came back, I found myself wondering where to go next. Many destinations came to my mind. When in a conversations someone asks you “where you want to head next” and you have a hard time answering, it’s time to take a break. If there isn’t one or a few places calling you enough to bear in mind in order to answer that question without some soul-searching, what travel can do for you won’t do at this point. Focus on going to places nearer, one day car trips, half a day if so. Travelling isn’t about a headcount on how many places you went in a given period of time but when you look back, how enriching and honest were those experiences. That implies that sometimes you had a less positive journey, and you should acknowledge it. If not for everyone, at least for yourself.

There is an exception to what I mentioned above: the inertia factor. You might be getting too comfortable waiting for the inspiration to come, for a feeling of reassurance that wherever you go it will be great. If in this predicament, go for it! Find someone to tag along or do it yourself. To find this moment is easier than you might think: just look for when your nearer experiences are not satisfying enough and you fell the genuine need for some fresh air!

--

--

Luis Dias
Travelosophy

32 year old from Lisbon, on a mission to share my thoughts